Joy.

The first heat wave of late spring hit the city today. We went from cool mornings, warm afternoons, and cloudy-skied nights to full on, sweltering heat. It’s disconcerting to say the least.

After arriving from work, sweaty and irritated with the world in general and traffic jams in specific, I spent at least half an hour looking at the water droplets on the tiny alyssum leaves I planted a couple of days ago.It gave me joy. It gave me a sense of reprieve from the heat, like the cool, green, fresh look of the plant was contagious.

I wanted to live under those leaves; I wanted to bathe in those droplets, to be surrounded by the crisp, earthy smell. Like a tiny, contented Smurf.

Leave a Reply

