The Rolling-Pin Conundrum.

In my parents’ house desserts and sweets were not varied but they were present. There would be cake every Friday, the slight vanilla smell wafting from the kitchen as soon as we got back from school. There would be lemon pie or suspiro limeño on Sundays, and sopaipillas on rainy winter afternoons.

And through all those years, my hands got used to my mother’s rolling-pin, the heavy wood worn dark and smooth after decades of use and care.

I never thought about rolling-pins until a couple of days ago. Apparently, I hadn’t baked a pie since moving out but, after mixing all the ingredients for the dough of what would be a pretty delicious Key Lime & Ginger Pie, I realized I had nothing to work it with.

It’s been almost a week and I’ve visited every supermarket, shop, and mall in a one-hour radius looking for a suitable pin. There aren’t. Either too light, or too small, or made of silicone (which I hate for cooking instruments), or the wood loose and splintery, I have been unable to find a good, heavy rolling-pin. It’s driving me crazy.

For that particular pie, though, I worked the dough with my hands and it turned out great! Thin and supple. Also, trying to introduce my family to a variation of the typical lemon pie,  I used key lime and fresh ginger for the filling, and light cream with lemon zest for topping (instead of meringue). It was just as easy to make as the usual pie but it had a special kick that had everyone going for second servings, a real crowd-pleaser!

Leave a Reply

